Customer reviews for Phase II 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12

Phase II 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12

505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12 Number of Pieces: 6 Contents: 1 Tool Post 1 Style 1 Holder 1 Style 2 Holder 1 Style 4 Holder 1 Style 7 Holder 1 Style 10 Holder Special Item Information: Tool Post TNut
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Review 1 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Much Easier Then A Rocker Tool Post

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Joe1911
from:Vernon, VT, USA
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Love this setup cuts my work time in half and comes with everything you need in a good set.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great QCTP for the money

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
peckcj
Technical Expertise:Home Hobbyist
Primary Use:Home-use only
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this for a 1936 South Bend 415. Be aware that the bottom mounting plate needs to be machined for it to fit right on this model. Quality is good, value is great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home use is great.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
40chevy
from:Pittsburgh, PA USA
Technical Expertise:Professional
Technical Expertise Professional:Machinist
Primary Use:Home-use only
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product in April 2012, and is used 2 to 3 days a week on my car restoration hobby.
I have used this type of quick change tooling in production machine shops in the past and is a great time saver.
This conversion type of tooling for my 12X36 lathe required some minor Milling machine work to install on this lathe. I would recommend this product for anyone that has a lathe.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save some money

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Jonesturf
from:PA
Technical Expertise:Home Hobbyist
Primary Use:Light Commercial
Usage frequency:Daily
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use Aloris at work but I didn't want to spend the $$ for home so i grabbed this on sale. So far it has held up fine. It does the job it needs to do for me and to be honest I can't tell much of a difference between this and the other brand. Definitely good to go in my book.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time saver for my 12 x 36 lathe

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
mechanic
from:Huntsville, AL, USA
Technical Expertise:Professional
Technical Expertise Professional:Engineer
Primary Use:Light Commercial
Usage frequency:Daily
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I purchased this, I quickly ordered additional tool holders to be able to set up more tools. It required a bit of modifications to mount on my tool post. I also fabricated a new top lock down nut with an attached handle to eliminate needing a wrench to adjust cutter position for parting, thread cutting, boring, etc.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for a quick change set

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
JohnB
from:Kansas
Technical Expertise:Home Hobbyist
Primary Use:Home-use only
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this set a few years ago on a web deal for less than $100 and have gotten a lot of good service out of it on a 10x24 sized lathe. The only critique I have is the set screws seem to be soft and prone to striping the hex. Replacing the set screws may be necessary but for what I paid it was a good deal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good addition to an old SB heavy ten!

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
PoppaRay
from:Amherst, MA, USA
Technical Expertise:Home Hobbyist
Primary Use:Home-use only
Usage frequency:Monthly
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an affordable improvement for a South Bend Heavy Ten in a home shop. The T-nut has to be fitted to the lath so access to a milling machine is helpful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of bang for the buck

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
wsmalley
from:Ohio
Technical Expertise:Home Hobbyist
Primary Use:Home-use only
Usage frequency:Weekly
Perfect quick change set for the home machinist and well worth the very reasonable price. Takes the drudgery out of switching and adjusting bits and gives me more time to play with my other toys. I would recommend this set to any small lathe owner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for the cost.

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer avatar
WoodlandMachine
from:Maryland
Technical Expertise:Professional
Technical Expertise Professional:Machinist
Primary Use:Light Commercial
Usage frequency:Monthly
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This set is easy to use and accurate. It is sturdy and well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product, great price

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
redolds
from:Nebraska
Technical Expertise:Home Hobbyist
Primary Use:Home-use only
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this based on other reviews and i have not been let down. The post and tool holders are solid and rigid which allow for very accurate turning. I am very pleased with this set.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool for the money.

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave69
from:Bend, OR, USA
Technical Expertise:Professional
Technical Expertise Professional:Fabricator
Primary Use:Light Commercial
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Although not as high quality as an American made product this tool is a decent value and will certainly get the job done.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Repeats very well using a wedge instead of a piston.

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
WOMB
from:Flint,Michigan
Technical Expertise:Professional
Technical Expertise Professional:Machinist
Primary Use:Home-use only
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The somewhat soft set screws have held up for a year of use and the holders and post have been very good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product works great for the cost

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Metalshaper
from:Hartsville, SC 29550, USA
Technical Expertise:Professional
Technical Expertise Professional:Fabricator
Primary Use:Light Commercial
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was sceptical about buying this tooling, but I am no longer.
It cuts great and i have received great service from them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tool For The Price

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
ADM1
from:Lexington, KY, USA
Technical Expertise:Apprentice
Primary Use:Light Commercial
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything works as advertised, and this is a well-made setup. My only complaint is that the clamp handle can vibrate loose, so one needs to periodically check while the lathe is running to make sure it's still tight.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 505-2253 - QuickChange Tool Post Sets Series: AXA Lathe Swing Inch: Up to 12
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality product

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
macrnr
from:Tijeras, NM, USA
Technical Expertise:Home Hobbyist
Primary Use:Home-use only
Usage frequency:Weekly
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice import quick change tool post. The quality is comparable to domestic at a fraction of the cost. Highly recomend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.